, , , ,

I’m a bit late to the party, but I still wanted to show off a few pictures of my most recent dress, a Sewaholic Cambie.

Sewaholic cambie dress

This dress was actually meant to be a test run for me, with a more summery version sewn up in cotton lawn as my final dress. But I liked the black eyelet fabric way more than I expected to, and the dress just fit so well without having to make any changes that I cut out a (lime green!) lining and finished it up. And I love it.

Tasia of Sewaholic is building quite the impressive line of patterns. She’s also a lady who loves her bike, and a fellow Northwesterner (Vancouver BC), which means that although I’ve never met her I think I can safely assume she’s A-OK. The only pattern she mentions being specifically inspired by cycling is the Minoru Jacket, but it’s clear the Cambie is bike friendly.

(I have the Minoru pattern, too, but I never got around to sewing it back when I needed it, and now it’s–cross your fingers–getting too warm. Look for notes about it come fall. Or next week, if “June-uary” continues to rear its ugly head.)

Her printed pattern directions are spare, like all patterns are, but she’s mediated that by turning her blog into a fabulous resource, and she’s very open to answering any questions you might have in comments and with really detailed tutorials.

In fact, she’s done sew-alongs of many of her other patterns (including a one of the Minoru Jacket which I tend to take full advantage of when I finally get around to sewing my own), so if you’re a beginning sewist looking to learn some new skills, I’d heartily recommend checking out one of Sewaholic’s patterns.

I sewed view A, because I prefer a more fitted look. The one caveat I’d have is that Tasia describes her patterns as “for pear-shaped women.” I’m not one, particularly, so I graded down a few sizes at the hips and everything fit fantastically.

The best thing about this dress (other than how well it fits and how many compliments I get wearing it) is the pockets.

Sewaholic Cambie

I think we can all agree that dresses with well-done pockets are seriously hard to come by. Cambie View A has these great deep slash pockets, while View B has onseam pockets. The slash pockets are deep enough that I don’t worry about things falling out, but I think on my next dress I’ll sew zippers into them just to make doubly sure when I’m on my bike. One can’t be too safe.

Speaking of zippers, I just couldn’t resist matching my back zipper to the lining fabric.

Sewaholic Cambie

It’s the other other best thing about this dress.

Go forth and make yourself one.